Tags

, , , , , ,

What is it like to fall into a dark emotional abyss, and be left there to suffer alone? How does it feel to fall from grace? This is a poem on being the victim, on being betrayed.

With every surge of anger
With every pang of jealousy,
I’ve fallen
I’ve fallen face first into a pit,
And have lain at the bottom
For days in dark,
Choking, and broken
Like shards of glass;
Face down in mud
– Silent, but screaming.
What do you know my suffering?

With every bout of lowness
With every shred of doubt,
I’ve sunken
I’ve sunken deeper into waters,
And have lain on the bed
For days in oblivion,
Choking, and broken
Like shards of shells;
Face down in sand
– Silent, but weeping.
What do you know my suffering?

If only I could,
I would make you pay
Put you in spot,
Give you death by your blow.
If only I could,
I would strike you back,
Return what you sent
– A deep eternal dent.

